Skip to content

Pre-Leap Day Excitement

February 28, 2012
tags:

According to the interweb, one popular Leap Day tradition is that women propose to their men. I’m posting this info a day early in case any of you single ladies out there need time to get your proposal speeches prepared before tomorrow. The interweb also says it is bad luck to get married in a leap year, I was married in 2008 (also a leap year) and I intend to prove the interwebs wrong on that one. I was born in a leap year, and I am one of the luckiest people I know, so leap year juju must not be that strong.

There is a set of twins at school who will celebrate their fourth actual birthday tomorrow. I think I would personally feel a little sad if I only got to celebrate my actual birthday every four years. Feb 28 and March 1 just would not feel the same to me. I guess it is lucky I am not a leap baby.

I plan to savor tomorrow to the best of my ability. I have little if any memory of any of the previous leap days. I’m sure I spent them well, but this year I’m hoping to retain a more vivid recollection.

At the farm the animals are not aware tomorrow is leap day. I’ve tried to explain it to them, but to no avail. Not even the cows were mooooved (get it!) by the news.

Regardless of how the animals feel, I am excited. I intend to do my best to make the most of an extra day in what is shaping up to be a lovely year. I hope you do the same!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

