Skip to content

It’s getting hot in here. So take off all your goats.

February 23, 2012

Today was unseasonably warm and beautiful. I drove past the house in town that my parents purchased and will soon move into. The scene was so picturesque, I decided mom might like to see it, so I took out my phone and texted her a thoughtfully composed snapshot of their house across the glistening lake. Mom’s response, “So I really won’t have to wear pants after all!” Apparently the photo made their house appear to be more secluded than it actually is. I am certain the adage, “People who live in glass houses should wear pants,” was invented for just this occasion. When more than fifty percent of the exterior of your home is clear window glass, pants are a thoughtful accessory. At least I think so.

The thermometer hit 78 degrees today in town and the sun was a welcome visitor. I soaked up as much vitamin D as I could in town and threw on shorts and a t-shirt as soon as I got home. Geoff had finished up the chores by that point and I found him sitting in the pasture with the goats. An early spring is not as pleasant for goats as it is for people. Our boers, who grow hearty, fluffy, winter coats were really sweating the unseasonably warm temperatures. It’s rough to rock a mohair sweater 24-7. Nadine and Roja in particular were panting quite a bit. Now that the sun has gone down everyone should be comfy, but I don’t envy those girls. Not to mention the fact that they are both supposed to be pregnant. Not a pleasant way for them to spend an afternoon.

In other news, farmer Geoff does not like to be called Kermit the Frog. Just FYI.

I'm pretty sure there is a sign that says pants required.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    February 24, 2012 8:36 AM

    How Beautiful

  2. Florence V. permalink
    March 31, 2012 6:02 PM

    Lindsey,
    I’m glad you’re writing in your blog again.

    I saw a video on Yahoo (or somewhere) that made me think of Good Life Ranch. A farmer was lying on his stomach on the ground and encouraging his kids to give him a “massage”. Three or four of them were climbing on and off of his back and walking around on him. All of the kids were goats. The farmer was laughing, and it seemed like they were all having fun.

Leave a Reply

