Skip to content

What dreams may come

February 22, 2012

I spent a surprisingly large part of yesterday trying to convince my friend Kelly to dream about an accordion last night. In spite of the many vague and overt accordion references I planted in her conscious awareness yesterday, none of them crossed the barrier to her subconscious and appeared as day residue in her dreams. Bummer. I was hoping mind control could be one of my new skills. Nonetheless, my takeaway from the whole experience is no matter how much you want a dream for someone else, you can’t make it part of their reality. We are each in charge of our own dreams and we’re each responsible for achieving them on our own. This point was driven home for me a second time yesterday when someone I care about deeply told me she was too scared to go after a dream that she once had. This brought to light what I believe to be a second universal truth about dreams. Achieving your dreams requires bravery, boldness, and confidence. Then I had a weird situation today where someone I work closely with may not having the skills and abilities required to achieve her dream–demonstrating dream postulate number three: achieving your dreams takes talent and preparation.

These three realizations about dreams could leave a person a little depressed about the whole notion of dreams. As an eternal optimist, I have a different interpretation. Dreams are special because they are hard to achieve. Dreams are important because for the most part you have to make your dreams come true for yourself. You can’t phone them in. You can’t be like, “Oh, hey, I’m feeling a little under the whether today, would you mind going out and achieving some important life milestones for me while I sit here on the couch and nurse my sore throat.” You can’t do that. Thank the good Lord we can’t. The world would be entirely populated by lame-asses if you could order your dreams to-go like food off of a take-out menu. Dreams have to be pursued and wooed and hunted down. They beg to be fought for. If ever I get discouraged about the slow pace at which Geoff and I are building up Good Life Ranch and Lifestyles Lane, I remember that nothing valuable is acquired without a price. If our dream were easy to achieve it wouldn’t be worth dreaming. If moving to rural Kentucky, leaving our home, our friends, and high-speed internet were easy, everyone would do it.

So on this first day of Lent, in a spirit of reflection, repentance, and gratitude, I thank God for the dreamers and what dreams may come.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

