Skip to content

Bringing Back the Blog

February 19, 2012

Hey there, America. It’s been a while. Sorry for my long and unannounced absence from the blog-o-sphere. I guess the best way to put it is that life got in the way.

So, let’s catch up. How’ve you been? Great, glad to hear it. Me? Good question. Well, I have not blogged anything since Thanksgiving, and really have not done any serious blogging since the interns were here this past summer. I intend to remedy that. I know you’ve been missing stories about poop and animals and heavy things Geoff decides to pick up. Have no fear, those stories still exist. The animals are still pooping, Scooter is still rolling recreationally in that poop. But before we get to the poop, I’d like to talk a little about what has brought me back to blogging.

During our first year here on the farm I blogged to make sense out of our new life. I blogged because I was sad and homesick and a little depressed, and I also blogged because in the midst of all of that I was also excited and joy-filled and curious. The start of this school year did a lot to propel me into a more positive frame of mind. I’ve loved the students I’ve gotten to work with this year. I’ve loved the contributions I’ve been able to make to my school and our local community. Now that Geoff and I are just a few short months away from celebrating the second anniversary of our arrival here in Kentucky, I definitely feel more at home. I think that is probably why I have not made time to blog much in the past six months. I’ve just been enjoying life and spending my time with the people I love. I realize though, that there are so many people I love who are not here in KY, and this blog is one way I can keep them posted on our lives even when things get too crazy to sit down and call each one of them up.

The timing is also right to begin blogging again because we are about to enter into my favorite season of the year. This Wednesday marks the beginning of Lent (the forty days [plus Sundays] before Easter). If you know me well you know I love Lent because of its focus on reflection and personal sacrifice. I typically celebrate Lent by giving up something and adopting a new spiritual discipline. This year I am giving up watching TV and I am adopting blogging again. I know blogging might not seem like a spiritual discipline, but to me anything that increases mindfulness and reflection certainly counts as a spiritual discipline. I’m giving up TV because, although I believe there are many worthwhile programs on television, I spend most of my TV watching time looking at nothing particularly edifying and before I know it hours have passed. In an attempt to be more mindful, more focussed, and more productive, I’ll take a break from TV.

So stay tuned, America. Farmerlady is back. Now take a look at this picture I took of gummy bears.

I've gotten in to Gummy art since last I blogged.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    February 19, 2012 5:16 PM

    I can tell you’re serious about your blogging JUST by your photo of Gummy art. Well done.

  2. Cody permalink
    February 21, 2012 6:31 PM

    Glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

