Skip to content

Doubly Blessed

August 28, 2011

GLR Double Rainbow--photo by Dana Eardley

I’m taking a break from my preparations for class this week to do a little blogging. We are about to enter week five of the school year here in KY and so far I can say this has been an exceptional year. I’m loving each and every one of my students. My colleagues and I have set out to challenge the kids this year to think more deeply and analytically. I am enthused about our progress thus far. Since our last group of interns have left Geoff has had the opportunity to sub at school several times. From what I can tell he has enjoyed stepping back into the classroom.

I am continuing to focus on happiness and inner peace. I’ve noticed that by being deliberate about it I’ve been able to make great strides. I’ve set aside time for prayer, time to be deliberately thankful, time to mentor students, time to collaborate with colleagues, time to relax and be frivolous, and it is having very positive effects. Last year I was so sad. I felt like I had nothing to contribute and I could not get past the shock of moving and adjusting to a new culture. Now I have some perspective. I am learning to live peacefully in the differences. I am learning to lighten up. Most of all though, I am truly happy. I’ve been able to reorient myself and reintroduce myself to what is most important to me. That has made me feel successful and has allowed me to combat the gloom and anxiety I slipped into last year. Even in the face of the many obstacles we encounter out here on the farm, I have hope and I have joy and that is a double blessing.

I’m proud of my students. I am proud of the work I am doing. I am happy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    August 28, 2011 4:35 PM

    Lindsey: I wish I could say/write it with such eloquence as you exhibit, but from the bottom of my heart — I am thrilled for you.
    Your friend,
    Bonnie

  2. Wendy W. permalink
    August 28, 2011 6:18 PM

    I’m shooting for inner peace and happiness too, Lindsey. Prayer time is a must!

  3. Uncle Chris permalink
    August 28, 2011 6:37 PM

    Sweetie I am so glad you have found happiness. We are truly proud of you and Geoff too. Keep doiong what you are doing and I know GLR will be a whopping success. Love you guys lots.

    Uncle Chris

  4. pam mcpherson permalink
    August 28, 2011 7:08 PM

    Congrats, Lindsey! I know moving from SA to KY has been a major culture shock, but you’re doing great ! Make sure that Geoffrey takes you to a BIG (REALLY BIG) city every once in a while !Out in the boonies can take it’s toll when you’ve been a city girl all your life !!

Leave a Reply

