Skip to content

I’ll see you in my reams.

May 19, 2011

I do not often make impulse purchases, but when I do, I always make absurd ones. Great absurd ones. Allow me to elaborate. In my life I have owned or currently own the following: a unicycle, juggling clubs, a fully illustrated 1,001 Arabian Nights, a rainbow colored glass bottle that looks like a genie could live in it, flippers and a snorkel, a lacrosse stick, a harmonica, a papier mache Ablert Einstein head, and a tool specifically designed to take the little lint  ball off of sweaters (actually that one was a gift). Today, I added to this collection of real property perhaps my most useful non-essential purchase yet– a crate (that is 2300 sheets) of dot matrix printer paper. What? Dot matrix printer paper? The hell you say! No, it is true. I am now the proud owner of 2300 continuous sheets of paper with little holes on each side (2297 now because I pulled three sheets off).  Why would I want 2300 sheets of continuous paper. Well, the other day on TV Geoff and I saw this poet reading from a ream of dot matrix printer paper, and since then I have not been able to get the image out of my mind. The summer is coming and I think this carton of paper will help spur my literary creativity. I can make really long signs. I can make elaborate lists of any length, I can draw maps that are either very long or very wide, I can spell out giant words made of paper, I can pursue the creation of elaborate chains of paper dolls, or I can outline Cody’s star vehicle. If I ever win the Pulitzer prize I am pretty sure it will have something to do with this paper. Nerd time starts now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    May 19, 2011 11:16 PM

    Lindsey you are so Creative I’m sure that box will lead to a Pulitizer Prize. God Bless and I love you

    Uncle Chris

  2. Laurie permalink
    May 20, 2011 5:50 AM

    This post right here, this is why I love you!! (Okay, just one of the reasons!)

  3. Cody permalink
    May 20, 2011 10:44 AM

    Star vehicle!! Hurry up! I’m moving into the next age bracket. Write Write Write!

  4. Lisa permalink
    June 2, 2011 7:24 PM

    Okay, I was catching up on your posts and am a bit behind. But this just made me smile huge. For some reason I am picturing you behind that English office window and Myke and I outside with that ream of paper making you laugh. Love you Linds! Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

