Skip to content

And they’re off…

May 17, 2011

Just this past Saturday I engaged in one of my favorite activities so far as a Kentuckian–we went to see the ponies! Some of our wonderful friends invited us to join a larger group that goes every year to Churchill Downs. We got to watch a day’s worth of races from a luxury suite on Millionaires Row just above the finish line. It was a fantastic day.

And now a list of the things I did not know about myself before moving to Kentucky:

1. I am allergic to everything in Kentucky (at least everything that grows on a plant or floats microscopically in the air).

2. I like snow and hate winter.

3.  I love, love, love betting on the ponies.

Anyone will tell you that I am by no means the biggest gambler in my extended family. Nonetheless, I really enjoyed the thrill of placing my bet, watching the horses run, and then taking my winning ticket up to the betting window to collect. It is invigorating. Watching the horses thunder across the finish line and hearing the pounding  of their hooves on the dirt really gets your adrenaline pumping. I can’t even imagine how the jockies handle it.

In spite of my fears that I might need to join Gamblers Anonymous, I have not bet on anything since we returned from the races on Saturday, so I think I’ll be okay. I do now feel an uncontrollable desire to visit the other horse parks in Kentucky. Everyone has told me that Keenland in Lexington is magnificent and not to be missed. So. maybe I will cultivate an addiction to hors parks rather than gambling. We’ll see.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    May 17, 2011 1:16 PM

    Looks like fun Sweetie. How much did you win? Your Nana Loved it too so you came upon it naturally. Love ya’ll

    Uncle Chris

Leave a Reply

