Skip to content

Rites of Spring and the Good Life

April 2, 2011

Today is the first day of my Spring Break. It was a beautiful, sunshiney day here on the farm. Geoff and I went for a hike, took photos, surprised wild turkeys, planted flower seeds, and watched some NCAA basketball. As we speak Geoff is outside trying to scare 5,000 birds out of the bamboo garden. My family is visiting this week and will arrive starting tomorrow. The highlight of the visit is sure to be my brother’s french bulldog puppy, Walter, who will make is maiden airplane trip on Monday. The sun is setting on a great day here at GLR.

 

Scooter and Bailey pose reluctantly by the daffodils.

Pear blossoms, blue skies, and sunshine brighten up the farm.

You do not have to go to D.C to see the cherry blossoms, we have plenty here.

A springtime farm view from the top of the hill.

Our newest, and funnest addition--Magpie Ducklings!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 7:47 AM

    I am so happy to have found this blog! It was the turkey husbandry post that did it, but you have a very engaging way of writing about Life Around Here, which in your case of course would be There to me, but I digress. I don’t farm, as I know my limitations, but I surely do enjoy writing about the farming that other people do up here in Antrim County, Michigan. And look! Your cherries are already in bloom!

  2. Adam Quap permalink
    April 12, 2011 3:25 PM

    What you call a hill, looks like a mountain to me.

    • April 12, 2011 5:39 PM

      That is probably because you live in West Texas, where they specialize in flat 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

