Skip to content

The Magic of El Cosmico

March 25, 2011

After lunch today at school at student asked me, “What’s on your shirt?”

“Dang it !?!” I said as I frantically searched my torso for whatever I might have desecrated it with during lunch.

“No, I mean, what is printed on your shirt?”

“Oh, I’m glad you asked. This is my super cool El Cosmico t-shirt.”

“What’s El Cosmico?”

“Well, I guess you could say it is like a really cool trailer park.”

“What?”

“Well, like a motel, made of trailers, in the desert. And they have a yurt.”

It is moments like this that make me seem irrecoverably weird to my students. N-E-R-D A-L-E-R-T!

Let me break it down for you, America. For a while I have been obsessed with this place called El Cosmico. It is located in the uniquely paradoxical town of Marfa, Texas–home to the famous Marfa lights. Marfa is a town where the art world meets rural America. Home to the Chinati Foundation, a first class contemporary art museum specializing in large scale minimalist instalations, Marfa attracts some pretty hip cats. Where do hip cats like to stay? Hip cats like to stay in yurts or refurbished Air Stream trailers. Duh. El Cosmico is where the hip cats stay. I have not ever stayed there. But I dream.

El Cosmico is not some random collection of yurts, a teepee, and trailers. It is a miracle of modern design. It is a functioning community. It celebrates the outdoors, space, and the spirit of Manana. They have special events, concerts, design workshops, and other really cool programing. I am pumped about this place because I see it as something that GLR could one day be like. We dream of having visitors and guests. We hope to have a really cool place for future interns, volunteers, etc. to stay. And I loves me some Air Stream trailers.

For my birthday my dad sent me a picture of my mom and my mom sent me a dollar for every year of my age, so at the end of the day I had $51 of spending money. I used part of that money to get an awesome El Cosmico t-shirt which arrived on Wednesday. It came in plain brown wrapping (my favorite) with a simple El Cosmico stamp (see pic above). And I wore it to school today.

So I  related the above story, more or less, to my student who asked what was on my shirt and another student replied:

“So while your husband is out sleeping with the chickens, what do you do, like look all over the internet for weird stuff?”

Basically, yes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 7:10 PM

    Yes!! I can’t believe you mentioned Marfa! I’ll meet you there. I’m obsessed with Prada Marfa and would love to see it and take photos!! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prada_Marfa

    Mrs Q and Farmerlady in West Texas!!

    • March 26, 2011 7:16 PM

      Mrs. Q, I already thought you were cool, now I know you are awesome!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

