Skip to content

The Martin Van Buren Guinea Fowl Connection

March 19, 2011

In my spare time I like to compare people I know or animals to famous historical figures. Let’s just say my dad has been known to send me pictures of a certain historically popular president because of that president’s resemblance to my mom. More on that another day. For now I would like to explore the eerie similarities between the eighth President of the United States, Martin Van Buren, and Guinea Fowl. Martin Van Buren was the first president not of British descent and the first President to be born an American citizen (1782). What, you might ask, do these tidbits and factoids have to do with Martin Van Buren being like a Guinea Fowl? Nothing. They are just cool facts. Like the fact that Martin Van Buren’s first language was Dutch. He was our first ESL president. No, the similarities between MVB and the GFs has nothing to do with background, language of origin, or political aspirations. The similarities are purely physical. Allow me to illustrate.

Martin Van Buren

Guinea Fowl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You see it, right? Brothers from another mother. I don’t know why I did not think of this before. Their love of formal wear. The way they both sport the classic mutton chop, not to be confused with the friendly mutton chop, which includes a mustache. In fact, I am not sure why Guinea Fowl were not named Martin Van Buren fowl to begin with. It would definitely make it easier for my friends at school to understand what Guinea Fowl are. A few of them still believe we raise guinea pigs, and donkeys ;). Well kids, consider yourselves schooled. Guinea Fowl=Martin Van Buren. Guinea Fowl= NOT guinea pigs.

In other news, last week on March 15, I set a personal record for number of hits on this blog. For some reason, on that day I had over twice as many hits as I do on a normal day, in fact I surpassed my previous best day by over 150 hits. Naturally, I was curious to find out what caused such a surge in readership that day. Then it hit me–it must have something to do with the tags. I only had two tags on that day’s post, nuns and Oprah. I know. I’m thinking what you are thinking, nuns must be wildly more popular than any of us could ever have expected. Or…did Oprah have something to do with this? Because I am married to a scientist, and because I have been a scientist myself for a pretty long time (see photo evidence below) I am conducting an experiment. Today’s post has an Oprah tag. Tomorrow I will nun tag my post. If one of these two posts has a significantly higher hit rate, assuming I can keep the level of comedy and general interest the same (and assuming a frictionless surface) then we will know who has more power, nuns or Oprah. Think on it. Also, depending on how often Oprah googles herself, she might run across my blog, which would be awesome. Hi Oprah!

Scientist

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    March 19, 2011 11:03 PM

    Great Blog, I’m still Laughing

  2. Kelly Milburn permalink
    March 21, 2011 6:18 PM

    They do look alike! AMAZING! The guinea pig comment was for me, wasn’t it? By the way, hi Oprah! I’m Kelly. I work with Lindsey and I too read her blog. Now that you no longer have your show, hit me up sometime– we’ll do lunch. Lindsey can come too!

  3. Annaka permalink
    April 26, 2011 9:40 PM

    A thought about traffic. Bunch of us here in northeast Georgia are fans of Natures Harmony Farm (The Accidental Farmer) and about the time you were writing about nuns and Oprah, you had recently posted about loving the book, so we all trooped over to check you out. Have been reading since then. Not your tags – it’s your love of sustainability, local agriculture, and community! We’re all cheering for you, even those of us townies who don’t keep chicks and only manage tomatoes and peppers in the garden each year…

Leave a Reply

