Skip to content

Getting my Nutrit-On

March 13, 2011

I realize now that I should have titled yesterday’s post Ramp and Row. I’ll be more alert with future titles. I spent the better part of today grading and out of the corner of my eye watching the Sister Wives marathon on TLC. I had to switch it off though. It is not one of my go to reality TV shows, and I find it incredibly frustrating to watch. The man on that show appears to be a pretty big goober. I am not sure what it is about him that has attracted four different women to be his wives. Having a marriage with just two people in it is challenging enough, I don’t know how those people manage with a five people marriage. Five-way compromise sounds pretty impossible. So we’ll be having none of that show anymore.

You might remember in the past I’ve mentioned Mrs. Q and the Fed Up With School Lunch Blog (my hyperlink button is not working, so click on the picture below to link to the blog) before. I haven’t logged on to it in a while, but I did some catching up on it yesterday. In case you aren’t familiar she is the anonymous teacher who spent a year eating only what her school cafeteria provided for lunch each day. Her objective was to chronicle the levels of nutrition (or lack there of) in the lunch and the effects on her body, her ability to concentrate, etc. The year of lunching is over and now she is documenting the healthier items she is packing in her lunch and food related political issues. It is a great blog.

I encourage you to check it out if you have never been their, or revisit if it has been a while. As a classroom teacher I can testify to the importance of nutrition (or lack there of) as it relates to students ability to concentrate, their behavior, and the overall quality of their educational experience. Many people have written about it in more detail than I have, but nutrition is one of the most important political issues facing our nation. It ties together issues of poverty, fiscal freedoms, personal freedoms, personal responsibility, and so much more.

As I strive for mindfulness during this season of Lent, I am striving to be aware of where my food comes from, and to not settle for food-like-substances. Which is hard. If you walk down the isles of the grocery store, so may foods are fake. And, fake foods are so quick and easy to prepare. It is such a tricky pickle. But, real food is miraculous. Real food is a blessing. Settling for anything less almost seems sacrilegious. We live in such an unusual place and time when we have to, daily, think about whether what is supposed to sustain us is actually destroying us. There is definitely a lot of food for thought.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2011 7:45 PM

    Thanks for the mention, lady! I enjoy your blog too (I get it by RSS feed)

    • March 14, 2011 4:12 PM

      Thanks for reading! I love what you’re doing with your blog. Keep it up!

  2. Allison permalink
    March 14, 2011 9:44 AM

    I have been reading Mrs. Q for over a year now and she is right on! We in Missouri are fighting against new bills in our legislature that would give less local control against CAFO. The farmer is the first link in the healthy food system and we have to protect them against cooperate agriculture, but you all know that…:)

Leave a Reply

