Skip to content

Big Bird is not the Boogey Man

March 3, 2011

Guys, I feel the power of democracy coursing through my veins. Fo real. I just wrote my legislators! Ya dig.

Part I: State Senator McGaha

I wrote my state senator because Kentucky is about to make up for a shortfall in medicaid funding by taking millions of dollars from the public education budget. The already beleaguered educational budget. If you are a Kentuckian I highly recommend that you too get on the interweb and email your rep as well. Two reasons 1) the kids need quality schools, reasonable class sizes, highly educated teachers and 2) the money is better spent on schools now than prisons later. More math, less meth.

Part II: Senators Rand Paul and Mitch McConnell

Mr. Rogers loves me just the way I am. Big Bird is awkward, I am too, and we both still have friends. I have been watching PBS since I was a fetus. It has made a difference in my life. It has made a difference in the lives of many people I know. More importantly, it has made a difference in the lives of many people I do not know. Pre-schoolers living in urban settings who might not have access to formal early childhood education. Rural kids who get to see the New York City Ballet perform without having to buy tickets. Middle Americans learning the wonders of authentic Mexican cooking from Rick Bayless or Italian cooking from Lidia Bastianich. For these reasons and many more I had to write my senators and ask them not to eliminate public funding for NPR and PBS in their attempts to balance the national budget. Don’t get me wrong. I am for a balanced national budget. Geoff and I have committed to making sacrifices necessary to live debt free in our own household, and I don’t mind expecting that of my nation as well. Especially since controlling our debt and who owns it is one of the most crucial factors in our national security. That being said. I do not believe the minimal amount of savings that would result from eliminating federal contributions to PBS and NPR is proportional to the loss our nation would suffer with out them.  Our national security and welfare are benefited by having an educated, literate citizenry. PBS and NPR both offer Americans access to programming that promotes these ends. From NOVA and Masterpiece Theater to Science Friday with Ira Flatow the publicly supported stations offer a platform for public discourse of topics ranging from fine arts, to science, to civics.  We are better when we are encouraged and challenged to think. We are better when we don’t fear learning, but seek to promote it in ourselves and in our fellow countrymen. I for one value the programming I listen to on the way to work as much as I value to roadway I drive on. I am willing to support PBS and NPR with my tax dollars, my personal donations, and my voice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cody permalink
    March 3, 2011 8:49 PM

    Amen. Seriously. Also- 3,2,1 Contact was AMAZING!!!!

  2. Chatty permalink
    March 3, 2011 9:14 PM

    Well said! I not only love PBS at home but also regularly stream videos for my classroom.

  3. Allison permalink
    March 4, 2011 9:03 AM

    I hear ya sista!!! I am so saddened at the thing they are comoing up with to cut instead of the things they need to cut…like their paycheck.

Leave a Reply

