Skip to content

“You’re the mayor, right?”

February 15, 2011

All week long in my school district we are having celebrations to get kids pumped about reading. Our librarian has planned a variety of events and the district purchased a free novel for every single child. As a part of today’s activities the kids got to go down to the library, pick up their brand new free book, and then during 7th period we invited special guests to campus to read with the kids for 30 minutes.

In advance of today’s activities I was trying to get my students pumped, so I read them a list of local celebrities who would be on campus to read with us including our new Mayor (who happens to be the father of one of my colleagues); former NCAA and NBA player and University of Minnesota head coach, Clem Haskins; the National Racoon Hunting Champion, whose name I did not catch; and Geoff, the most famous local celebrity of all.

When Geoff arrived I introduced him to the class, and then we spirited off to the library so the kids could pick up their free books. We got back to the classroom and I hear one of my kids say to Geoff, “So you’re the mayor, right?” Evidence enough why “I love to read” week is so vitally important for my students. I am planning my own version for next week. It’s called, “I love to listen.”

But I’ll let you decide. Maybe the student was just confused. Maybe Geoff looks like the mayor. Personally I don’t think so.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila McGuire permalink
    February 15, 2011 9:04 PM

    Of course he’s not the mayor – he’s just Gejjie!

  2. yo momma permalink
    February 15, 2011 9:14 PM

    Does the Mayor have a beard?

  3. Uncle Chris permalink
    February 16, 2011 8:26 AM

    Maybe that is an Omen and there is a new calling for Geoff. Farmer/Mayor. In a small town those things can easily happen. God Bless

    Love ya Uncle Chris

Leave a Reply

