Skip to content

Back in the saddle again.

February 13, 2011

We haven’t been able to do as much active farming in the past few weeks as we had hoped, but the weather has taken a turn for the better. Today Geoff and I got to do some good old fashioned manual labor. Jillian Michaels is back! If you follow Geoff’s blog, then you know that he has been waiting for a certain gravel pile to thaw so that he could continue to work on the very slow and tedious process of installing a perimeter fence on our largest field. Since the thawing happened on a day when I did not have school, I was available to help G out.

I can say that my farming skills have come a long way since the summer. For example, as we were loading gravel from the gravel pile into the wheelbarrow I kept up almost shovel for shovel with Geoff. Also, I used the post hole digger to finish out some of the holes Geoff dug with the gas powered auger, and I did not cry or quit. And, when I nearly pierced my chest wall with the handle of a shovel, I did not burst into tears and I only used the F-word a few times. In fact that was the only time today I used the real F-word. At one point I actually heard myself saying, “Fudge!” and I thought to myself that I have really come a long way.

Poor Geoff is still outside digging holes. I came inside to work on homework for school and to start a hearty lentil stew for dinner.

Here are some pictures of this beautiful sunny day, our enthusiastic assistants, and Geoff, as always, working hard.

Our fence thus far.

 

Scooter and Bailey ready to get to “work”.
Gravel is heavy.

Farmer Geoff working hard.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

