Skip to content

A Tribute to San Antonio’s Greatest Restaurant

February 10, 2011

Even on this, our twelfth snow day, my thoughts can’t help but turn to spring time. While I have yet to experience a Kentucky spring, when I think of spring in San Antonio I think of La Fonda on Main.

While living on your own farm and cooking most of you own food is awesome, there is something to be said about the ability to tuck in to a glorious urban oasis and dine exceptionally well. If you find yourself in San Antonio anytime soon please follow these simple instructions.

First, get in your car and drive to La Fonda. Second, ask the hostess for a table on the patio. After you are seated immediately order one of two drinks, either a top self margarita with Patron and Cointreau on the rocks, no salt, or a frozen cactus pear margarita. Either one is an acceptable choice. As you wait for your drink converse happily with your friends and enjoy the gentle breeze and tropical surroundings of the patio. When the waiter returns with your drinks and asks to take your order DO ask about and seriously consider the specials, then go with your gut and order something as wonderful as the Mexican Cobb Salad, or the Pari Pollo, or any of the enchilada dishes, or literally any item on the menu as they are all spectacular. Remember to treat yourself to some chips and queso while the chef prepares your meal. If, by some miracle, you still have room in your tummy after your entree, then without a doubt try the Tres Leches cake. Then order a coffee or another drink and enjoy time well spent with friends until long after the sun has gone down. If you are fortunate enough to live in San Antonio, engage in this ritual weekly or bi-weekly. You’ll be glad you did.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jodi karjala permalink
    February 10, 2011 1:48 PM

    LOVE La Fonda on Main!! Fabulous, amazing food. Never a disappointment.

  2. Amanda permalink
    February 10, 2011 5:17 PM

    I go with the cactus pear and the enchiladas de espinacas. They added sweat potato enchiladas too. Adele got them and said they were wonderful.

  3. February 10, 2011 6:16 PM

    I was just about to update you on the sweet potato enchiladas, but Amanda beat me too it. They’re crispy. And delicious.

  4. mom permalink
    February 10, 2011 7:12 PM

    What about Ponchitos? I think they get my vote for the best mexican food in San Antonio. A 6 shrimp fajita taco with peppers, onions and guacamole for less than 3 bucks. And the breakfast tacos are yummy too. It for sure is the best bang for your buck. I admit the ambiance is fancier at La Fonda and I know there have been wonderful times there but I just had to give props to Ponchitos and mucho memories too.

  5. Uncle Chris permalink
    February 10, 2011 8:27 PM

    I’m glad to see you are still a Texas Girl at heart. Next time I’m in San Antonio I will go to LaFonda. Thanks

    Love Y’all lots
    Uncle Chris

  6. david permalink
    February 11, 2011 6:45 PM

    Unfortunately….they took the fountain away from the patio last year……

  7. Cristina permalink
    February 12, 2011 4:19 PM

    This is my first time commenting on a blog, yay! I had to because it’s about my favorite restaurant. When I think of springtime in SA I think of the huge Texas Mountain Laurel tree in the upper right corner of La Fonda’s parking lot. Um, grape-smelling goodness! We’ve been going to La Fonda religiously for over 10 years now, and I have ordered the chile relleno EVERY TIME. Adam has always ordered the milanesa de pollo. I just can’t break my addiction. Okay, I’m going to have to go there tomorrow and have a cactus pear margarita just for you, Lindsey. Small sacrifice on my part.

    • February 12, 2011 5:14 PM

      Thanks, Cristina! And, I had forgotten about the mountain laurel. Very happy memories. You guys enjoy your dinner!

Leave a Reply

