Skip to content

Worth a thousand words.

January 31, 2011
tags: , , ,

I’ve been searching for a symbol for today. Something that inspires joy, generates whimsy, promotes contemplation, revels in contradiction, and conceives future creativity. All hope was lost, or so I thought, until I remembered the little photographic masterpiece Geoff created yesterday.

For your consideration and meditation:

The Scooter-Lisa

 

As you contemplate this image, surely you are contemplating peace and all things right and good.

In my attempts to combat depression I have been trying to step back and gain perspective on my life and life in general. Along the way I’ve come across an unexpectedly light, bright, and thought-provoking blog that I’d like to recommend. If you have the time, please check out Jason Mraz’s blog Freshness Factor Five-thousand. Sometimes political, sometimes ludicrous, always positive and life-affirming, Mraz’s blog is an excellent mind holiday.

In other news, if you’ve been watching the news, I’ve been following the situation in Egypt pretty closely. A former student of mine, Kent, has been spending his junior year of high school in Cairo. Kent and his classmates are supposed to be evacuated sometime in the next few days (may have already been evacuated). If a blog can be a prayer, then this one goes out to Kent and his family in the hope of a safe journey home.

Until we speak again, readers, I hope this week brings you symbols of peace, humor, and soul-stirring joy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    January 31, 2011 11:13 PM

    My prayers are with Kent and his family. I’m folllowing Egypt closely too. What a great oppertunity for our country to nurture a new democracy in the Middle East. Praying for that too. The Picture of Scooter in his K9 Snuggie is priceless. Love ya both

    Uncle Chris

  2. Allison permalink
    February 1, 2011 2:44 PM

    I also suffer from depression. I suppose I have had it for most of my life. I am 48y.o and after I had my first child,who is now 15y.o. I had severe post partum depression. I am a nurse and I had no idea what was happening to me. I would have these “visions” of him being killed. Not by me and I never wanted to hurt him or myself, but I thought I should leave our family and I had planned several ways to become a missing person. I eventually told my physician about it and she diagnosed me with depression. I started on medication and stayed on that for almost 2 years before I felt like I could go off of it. I don’t take any medication at this time, but I know what triggers me and how to stay away from those things and what to do when I feel it coming on. Winter of course is harder and I have to try to get out and do things to stay busy and keep my positive side flowing. I have several blogs I read and I got a link I wanted to pass on to you. I admire the guy who has this blog because he is doing something about the stigma attached to mental illness. I thought I would pass it on to you. Beware he does use alot of bad language, but I try to just ignore that and get to the heart of the matter.
    Hope this helps, I really enjoy reading your blog . I am a want to be farmer so I am living that part of my life thru you all. We are in Missouri so I can relate to the country and weather you are experencing.

    • February 2, 2011 5:59 PM

      Thank you so much for sharing. I’ll have to check out that blog. Your experience gives me some good perspective.

  3. February 3, 2011 5:34 AM

    It? s the very first time I’ve heard that in Macedonia, obits are an uncommon observe. You have wonderfully written the publish. I’ve liked your way of writing this. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

