Skip to content

What happened to Alaska?

January 22, 2011

I baked it.

Behold:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Winter has been upon us for quite some time now. We’ve had eight snow days. The first few snow days were awesome, but now, with each snow day, I feel summer sliding one day further away. Also, I have some cabin fever. Originally I thought I should make baked Alaska as a way of consuming some of our many eggs. The chickens have really hit their stride and are laying between five and ten eggs a day. When the whether warms up we will have a dozen or more eggs a day. Lately we’ve been enjoying quiche, frittatas, and any other eggsample you can think of. Making baked Alaska allowed me to use up six egg whites and tomorrow I’ll use the yolks to make creme brulee. And, it doesn’t hurt that lighting a frozen desert on fire (or in this case putting it under the broiler) is a symbolic way of overcoming the frozen winter with the warmth of summer.

I’m pretty into symbols right now. I’ve always loved symbols and imagery–I am an English teacher after all. Lately in particular I’ve gotten re-pumped about symbols because I’ve been reading one of my favorite authors, Sue Monk Kidd. She and her daughter Ann co-wrote a book called Traveling with Pomegranates about their experiences traveling to some sacred pilgrimage spots in Greece, Turkey, and France. If you know me well, then you know I love journeys in general, and pilgrimages in particular. The book is filled with symbols of mother daughter love, symbols of divine love, symbols of strength and prosperity. My reading of the book was timely because both the women in the book were at a crossroads in terms of their spiritual lives, their emotional lives, and their careers. That is exactly where I am at right now in my life journey. I have not blogged in a while because I have been struggling with some depression lately. The depression is waning and I am coming into my own again.

Being depressed is nothing to be ashamed of, so I thought I’de mention it. I am a big fan of mental health. I am a big fan of mental health professionals as well as positive do it yourself attempts to improve mental health. I’ve been taking the do it yourself route lately, but if I needed to I would gladly employ the services of a professional. As it turns out, rural life has not agreed with my system as well as I had hoped. Fortunately, what I know about myself is that my initial feelings about a situation are not usually my lasting feelings about a situation. I think in the next year or two I could become a real pro at  small town life.

For now, I am medicating with authors like Sue Monk Kidd, Thomas Merton, and Rob Brezsny (for some cosmic comic relief), and activities like hitting the gym and baking seasonal protest cakes. So life is good, and rich, and multifaceted. Also, we are about to be done with our pilot reading program at school and I will get to really teach again which will surely cause my soul to breathe a sigh of relief.

The days are getting longer. Spring will be here before we know it.  I set Alaska on fire.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    January 22, 2011 8:46 PM

    Lindsey you really are becomming quite the Chef. I’m so proud of you it seems there is nothing you can’t do. You are douing great and you will adjust to small time life. God Blesss you andf Geoff

    Love Uncle Chris

  2. Scott permalink
    January 22, 2011 8:58 PM

    You and my friend Cathy would be bffs. As such, I have decided you should meet. She works in public education advocacy (and as my ex-boss) and she is also the boss of my college advisor (the south African one [the cool one]). Meaning she is his wife. Let’s make this happen.

  3. Kelly permalink
    January 22, 2011 9:15 PM

    In my experience, cooking is a great salve for depression!

  4. Cody permalink
    January 22, 2011 9:32 PM

    Protest Cakes!!!! I love it. Can you make an Apple Brown Betty to protest that no one names their kids Betty anymore? Nana would approve.

  5. mom permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:06 PM

    Good idea Cody…although maybe Betty White will cause an upswing in the naming of Betty… in hopes of a long and spunky life for newborn girls. I think NaNa would approve. Unless, of course, it pays homage to Betty Wasser 🙂

  6. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:12 PM

    I’m sad about Alaska burning — it IS my 2nd favorite state, but it is huge, and so I’m sure there is still some left. It looked both fun and delicious. I miss you guys!

  7. Mitzi permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:22 PM

    I’m reading a book on spirituality by Henri Nouwen called Reaching Out. The first section is about moving from loneliness to solitude. He says that even when our feelings are sad or painful we should sit with them and experience them because negative emotions bind us to all humanity, because we all suffer from time to time.

    If I were anywhere but this far south I would certainly get a case of Seasonal Affective Disorder. It was cold and cloudy for a week and I got cranky. I need my SUN. I guess you appreciate spring much more keenly, though, when you experience a true winter.

    Hope your classroom is just as magical as always.

Leave a Reply

