Skip to content

And then there were seasons!

December 14, 2010

I am from south Texas. The main season one experiences when growing up in south Texas is Hurricane Season. Moving to a region of the country that experiences four legitimate, quintessential seasons is completely new to me. When I was in the first grade my teacher had a calendar that listed the months of the year in order starting with January on top and listing each month in order one below the other all the way down through to December.  This is how I learned the months of the year, and this is how I visualize the months in my head, still, to this day. Each of these month placards was decorated with traditional depictions of holidays or weather usually associated with that month. The January had snow flakes and Happy New Year symbols; February had hearts and a blanket of snow. September had falling leaves; October had pumpkins, etc. Cognitively I have always known that there are places that have four different seasons, that there are places with changing leaves and snow, but knowing in your head and knowing from actual experience are two different things.

We had a beautiful fall here at the farm, and I anticipate future falls will be even more beautiful as we had a bit of a drought at the end of the summer. Our winter has been the real deal. We’ve had snow, freezing temperatures, and in general, a very magical and winter-wonderland-type forecast for the past several weeks.

Top things I have learned about winter so far:

1. Snow is sparkly and magical

2. Snow flakes actually look like the things you cut out of paper in elementary school.

3. If you go outside with wet hair in sub freezing temperatures, your hair will freeze. It really will.

4. Icicles are real, and hard to spell.

5. Snow is really really sparkly and magical.

6. Two snow days are great, three is too many.

7. I have a lot more to learn about sledding.

For more details on my ineptitude at sledding, behold the comically awkward video below.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cody permalink
    December 15, 2010 3:26 PM

    I don’t even know where to begin, sister dear. This does bring back a memory of your dance recital video as a child. (the one where you look down and the extreme weight of your head makes you almost fall).
    Love you!

  2. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    December 19, 2010 12:21 AM

    Well, first, I must say I am jealous of the 4 seasons. I believe your story, I think. But Wow, that looks like some risky adventure –you thrill-seeker, you! I think you could sled faster on a left-over pizza box. But thanks for the video — I laughed out loud!

  3. Mitzi Moore permalink
    December 26, 2010 9:11 AM

    I always find it interesting that we teach the four seasons so intensely during childhood, yet the vast majority of people on the planet probably don’t live in a place with deciduous trees that change color and a snow season. I’ve always wanted to figure out the approximate percentage of people who live in a place with the seasons we assume to be a universal experience.

    As I walked across my mother-in-laws yard with my arms full of presents and cookies yesterday, my feet were crunching over large deposits of brown leaves, which had just fallen to the ground during a recent rainstorm. Falling leaves and Christmas lights are incongruous. While I liked the 80-degree temperatures in San Antonio earlier in the week (it’s now freezing), it would be nice to have Mother Nature redecorate my environment more often.

Leave a Reply

