Skip to content

The many lives of a Good Life Chicken

October 18, 2010

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You might be wondering to yourself, “How many incredible meals can you get out of one succulent Good Life Ranch pastured chicken?” Well, I am here to answer that question.

Meal 1: A good old fashioned oven roast. For our very first full-sized bird I decided to do a simple roasting. I got home from work and had time to brine the chickie in water, salt, and brown sugar for about two ours. After the brining I seasoned the bird in and out with salt and pepper and filled the cavity with a lemon cut in half, two cloves of garlic, and an onion cut in half. I then trussed the bird and drizzled extra virgin olive oil on the skin. I put the bird in the oven for an hour-and-a-half at 375. I’m not trying to brag, but it was awesome.

Geoff and I ate a little less than half the chicken that night for dinner. The next day for lunch I had some on my salad.

Meal 2: Friday night is homemade pizza night in the McP household, and this week we made an awesome barbeque chicken pizza. I made the usual whole wheat dough. Then, we spread a combo of sweet and spicy barbeque sauce on the dough. I tossed some pulled white and dark meat chicken in the sauce combo as well. Next I covered the pizza in fresh mozzarella, topped that with sliced red onions and cracked black pepper, and then put it all in the oven for 20 minutes at 425. Before serving we garnished the pizza with fresh cilantro from our garden. Friday Pizza Night is my favorite dinner of the week, but this one might have been my favorite of all time. As my new friend Karen likes to say–I had a moment.

Meal 3: This bird was definitely the chicken that kept on giving. After the pizza we still had plenty of chicken left. I pulled all the chicken from the bone and stored it in the fridge. Then I made four quarts of chicken stock from the carcass. I used some of this chicken stock and some left over pie crust (dessert experiment) to make chicken pot pie. The CPP was filling, seasonal, and mmm mmm good.

Words can’t explain how exciting it was to raise and be sustained off of our own chicken. It was just about a year ago that I finished reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. To go from the pages of that book, to an idea, to a cross-country search for property, to buying the farm one day before my 30th birthday, to this weekend where all of our labor (mostly Geoff’s labor) resulted in three nutritious, delightful, sustainable meals really does feel like a miracle. I for one am filled with thankfulness at the abundance of blessings God has bestowed upon us lately (and throughout our lives). It’s just too much.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    October 18, 2010 4:58 PM

    Who does the Chickem feather Plucking and how is it done? Do you brine them because they have a natural Gammie taste ot id that more of a marinade? Sounds great ANd makes me hungry. Way to go guys.

  2. Cody permalink
    October 18, 2010 7:26 PM

    YAY!! I’m having a moment reading your moment. You are tasting the rainbow you have been licking for years. You deserve it!

  3. Mark permalink
    October 20, 2010 4:29 PM

    Hey, I’m a freshman at UT this fall, and I heard about ya’lls project from a former student of yours- Michael Tyler. He is tall, has black hair, is morose, not funny at all, and seemed to like you guys; I hope that helps you identify him. Anyways, I’ve been reading your blogs for three weeks now, and I think what you two are doing is awesome. I’ve developed an interest in sustainable and responsible farming this past summer, and while I haven’t been an intelligent consumer for long enough to prove that my new feelings are not just a phase, I am inspired by ya’ll two, seemingly normal people turned nascent farmer.
    Anyways, I realize that what I just wrote isn’t really a “comment” as much as it is a memoir, I just want to say that what ya’ll are doing is cool, and as evidenced by me, your voice is being heard by more people than you probably think.

Leave a Reply

