Skip to content

Time to get your chickens!

October 14, 2010

Good Life Ranch has processed its second batch of chickens, and these birds are ready to eat! I may or may not have mentioned the scrawny nature of our first batch of cluckers. In summary, we processed too early and the first batch were tiny. We did not make the same mistake this time. The second batch are mighty. We’re talking Jaba the Hen size. As we speak, I am brining a nearly five pound bird (that’s five real pounds, not the extra pound of liquid injection that a grocery store chicken usually contains). If this chicken were still alive it could carry Scooter across the room. In a few short hours we will be enjoying our freshly roasted bird with a smathering of local sides.  Your mouth should be watering. Let it.

Since I am in charge of marketing, Geoff would like me to remind everyone that our scrawny chickens make great single servings. If you were considering buying a cornish game hen, or a large quail, perhaps you would like to eat one of our “boutique” chickens (heretofore referred to as “scrawny” chickens). They are the latest rage. Also, when you eat them, they make you feel like a powerful giant. I’ve even been known to exclaim, “Fe, fi, fo , fum, I smell the blood of an Englishman!” when I eat them. It’s real fun.

If you are a resident of Casey or Taylor counties in Kentucky, be on the lookout for our ad that will appear next week in the Casey County News, the Central Kentucky News Journal, and on the websites of both of those periodicals. It is not a huge add, but we hope it will get the job done.

In other news, I’d like to report on some successes and points of personal growth. I think I have done a pretty good job of documenting my breakdowns and freakouts. Today I would like to honor my strength. Over the break I was a hardcore farmerlady. For the first time since we moved here I mowed the lawn without 1) breaking the mower 2) bursting into tears 3) getting interrupted by bad weather. Additionally, for the first time since we moved here I did not cry in the face of routine farm injuries. In the past if I hit my head, or got something in my eye, or if my husband forgot I am his wife, not his brother, and threw a large piece of wood or metal at me to catch and put somewhere, I did not cry. I’m pretty hardcore. Even more than that, the time working with Geoff and helping him achieve our goals for the farm made me able to envision the day when this place is fully up and running. It was farm as reality, not farm as did we do the right thing.

I think perhaps the greatest part of fall break was getting to see Geoff in his element. He has really become a professional farmer. I couldn’t be prouder of how hard he works, the skill with which he works, the organization he brings to every task. I know that our farm will be an absolute success due to his determination, work ethic, forethought, creativity, and fearlessness. Anecdote time: When we bought the farm we purchased a lot of random odds and ends that were lying around the farm. One of the things we purchased was an as-yet-unconstructed green house. Other than cleaning out our barn, the second major project of the break was constructing the greenhouse. When we arrived the “greenhouse” was a concrete slab with drains and waterlines installed, and a two sided metal frame. Everything else needed to be constructed. Geoff hired some welders from Elizabethtown to finish out the steel frame. Then he (with a little help from me) built the rest of the greenhouse. He installed the roof, the panels, the door, everything. At one point when he was perched precariously on the roof and I was taking pictures we realized neither of our mothers would be very pleased with what he was up to, but fortunately he survived and we have a really kick-ass greenhouse. If you know Geoff and I, then you know we are both afraid of heights. We have chosen to approach our mutual fear in very different ways. He fights the fear by doing things like climbing mount Kilimanjaro and dangling from the top of greenhouses. I address my fear by remaining as close to the ground as possible at all times. To each his own.  The bottom line is that Geoff is a rockstar, and the hardest working farmer this side of the Mississippi (except for maybe our neighbor David who literally farms everywhere, everyday. But he has Amish superpowers).

Life is good at Good Life Ranch. You should come and check it out for yourself. You’ll be glad you did.

Also, buy a chicken.

Me, farming.

Geoff, dangling.

The Greenhouse.

Geoff, very high.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    October 15, 2010 2:15 AM

    The green house looks great. How much are the chickens and turkeys? Since the birds are free range do they have a gamy taste at all because I’m used to store bought and do you ship them? When someone buys a turkey or chicken etc. will they be cleaned ( feather Free). Thanks

  2. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    October 16, 2010 3:59 AM

    Wow– fabulous greenhouse. Thanks for the picture of you “farming.” To an untrained eye it looks like industrial-strength sweeping, but i know better. Forget those stereotypical and overused pics of farmers holding pitchforks or milking the cow.

Leave a Reply

