Skip to content

Update

August 29, 2010

Dear readers,

My sincerest apologies for not writing in a while. Life has been full here on the farm, and unfortunately my ability to smoothly transition from city dweller to farmerlady is less than I would have hoped.

I’ve hit a rough patch over the last two weeks. I think the magnitude of our endeavor is fully sinking in and it has overwhelmed me. Geoff has been incredibly supportive and heroic through my long naps and spontaneous fits of tears. I believe I have turned a corner and am headed back in the direction of my happy, funny, enthusiastic self.  I know that I am a person who takes a long while to get used to new situations and circumstances. Therefore, it makes sense that after only two-and-a-half months in a new place that I would not be fully adjusted yet.

The people I have met and the friends I have made here are wonderful. The hospitality of our new community is definitely not the issue. I debated whether or not to blog about how I’ve been feeling at all. Then I decided that part of the reason I keep this blog is so that Geoff and I can look back on this whole experiment and see how far we have come–so we would have a record of the ups, the downs, and everything in between.

On the bright side, and in an attempt to get back to some of my old routines that had positive mental health benefits, I’ve been working out using the Trainer Bob (from the biggest loser) DVDs. He might be the nice one on the show, but when you buy his DVDs you quickly learn that he will kick your butt with impunity. So I’m eating right (no more eating to avoid sleeping or crying), I’m getting exercise, and I have an excellent support system here on the farm. Surely only peace and serenity can follow.

Thanks for reading,

Farmerlady

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cody permalink
    August 29, 2010 8:18 PM

    The Brown Eyed Beauty will prevail.

  2. September 2, 2010 12:42 PM

    Thank you for your inspiration! Please read the following post on my own blog and you’ll understand…

    http://themagicfarmhouse.wordpress.com/2010/09/02/funeral-photography/

  3. Kelly Milburn permalink
    September 8, 2010 6:29 PM

    Lindsey, I am so sorry you have been bummed out with your circumstances lately. We are thrilled to have you as a part of our TCHS family and are certainly getting use to you being with us. I have moved to many different places as well and know the ups and downs of getting adjusted. Some days just suck! I guess I just want to encourage you and let you know that you have a whole group of people who love you and are in your corner! You are allowed to vent to us– we certainly don’t hold back! 🙂 Please let me know if you ever need a pep talk or a shoulder. I am here for you!

    • September 8, 2010 6:39 PM

      Kelly,
      Thanks so much for your support. I really like TCHS and everyone there. I am doing better lately. That post was kind of a rock bottom moment. Since we got the goats things have really picked up :). You are right it is an up and down process. Thankfully I feel like I am moving in the up direction. I’m someone who just needs a lot of time to get adjusted to new situations. I’m thankful for your collegiality and friendship.

Trackbacks

  1. Funeral Photography «
  2. Funeral Photography

Leave a Reply

