Skip to content

Rabbit Sexing: Not what you think

August 14, 2010

“Hey you wanna help me sex the rabbits?”

Hmmm. That is a hard question to answer. Geoff has this way of innocently asking questions that are far more complicated than they appear on the surface.  A Justin Timberlake and Andy Sandberg version of “Bunny Lover” starts playing in my head as I ask, “What does that mean?”

“Oh it’s real easy, you just hold the bunnies and then I check to determine what gender they are, and then we mark them with the rabbit marker.”

Hmmm. This does sound simple. I just hold the bunnies. What could be hard about that? We’ve picked them up to pet them many times before.

“Okay, let’s do it.”

I think my first mistake was not Googling in advance the appropriate attire for bunny sexing. Naively, I assumed that running shorts, a t-shirt, and tennis shoes was the appropriate outfit for the “bunny holder”. Geoff had on jeans and a t-shirt, so I thought I was safe in assuming I did not need any special apparel. Sadly, I was wrong.

The normally docile, precious bunnies that we interact with everyday went psycho when they realized Geoff had to look at their cha-chas. We started with some of the smaller bunnies–relatively easy to hold, but microscopically small cha-chas. I incurred a few minor scrapes and scratches, but nothing too alarming. Then, it was time to sex the bigger bunnies. Bigger bunnies have much easier to identify boy/girl parts, but they are also much stronger and have sharper claws. By the end of the sexing I looked like either the most aggressive cutter on the planet, or the survivor of a very small knife fight.

The joy of sexing doesn’t end there though. When rabbits get nervous and upset they poop, pee, and shed. With each rabbit I got covered in more poop, more pee, and more fur.  Below you will see two very blurry pictures of my wounds. My left and right arms are covered with scrapes, I have two huge gashes on my thighs, and my entire abdomen is covered in poop.

Bunny poopies on the shirt.

The wounds are less visible, but my expression is better.

The bunnies have now all been sexed. We ended up with way more males than I expected.  When the weather cools off a bit (hopefully Monday) we will transfer the rabbits to their very special rabbit tractors where they will enjoy fresh grass, sunshine, and the other joys of rotational grazing.

Now all I have to do is try to get the phantom bunny poo smell out of my nose.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 9:55 AM

    LOL first rule to learn when farming and helping out, either wear old already stained clothes, or never wear white. And always have a pair of jeans stashed close by, I carry a pair in my truck, just for those wanta help me times.
    I love your adventures so far. Looking forward to more. So you have cattle? Fun helping clamp them. Just a thought, you would want to wear steel toed shoes for that.

  2. Uncle Chris permalink
    August 15, 2010 9:44 PM

    Its a Crappy job but someone has to do it.

  3. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    August 29, 2010 9:11 AM

    I was curious — if you really Google “bunny sexing attire,” what do you get? The first listings appeared entirely inappropriate and not related to what you’re trying to achieve AT ALL. However, there were a few entries that seemed to actually give legit advice on bunny sexing and one even mentioned — wear a long-sleeved jacket and jeans. It also said to hold the bunnies partway upside down — it sort of hypnotizes them (there were pictures). So, I guess you really can Google anything, as long as don’t mind filtering. Thanks for keeping us informed and enlightened. I’m looking forward to the Road Trip.

Leave a Reply

