Skip to content

On Being A Badass

June 25, 2010

Actually, this post is more aptly titled, On Having a Meltdown, or On Cussing Out Appliances, or On Harnessing Your Inner Badass After Struggling with Doubt and Failure. But I thought the title I stuck with was more inspirational.

So here’s how it went down. When we arrived at the farm all of the beds and fields were overgrown. Geoff spent two days mowing just to clear out the area around the house. We still need to have someone come and hay our fields for us (I saw a twelve year old driving a tractor today, we might ask him). After Geoff mowed there were still several areas that he could not get to. This necessitated someone doing a whole lot of weed whacking to get the job done. We thought we had a trimmer but it turns out the one we believed we had was not functioning. We went to Lowes and bought a respectable trimmer and brought it home. We got it all loaded up with gas, oil. etc. and it was going to be my job to do the weed whacking. From the onset I was intimidated. I had only ever used and electric weed eater. I had only ever weed eaten small lawns, and now I was about to tackle acres and acres of land. I started off okay, although the whacker was awkward and heavy. But then things went down hill culminating in the explosion of the front head of the trimmer. Fortunately we purchased the protection plan and were able to return the trimmer for a full refund. Since I was the one who was doing the returning, and since I was the one who ended the previous day cursing the busted weed whacker and its ancestors, I went to Lowes to get the new whacker.

Once there, I discovered that for just 40 dollars more I could purchase a super pimped out professional model complete with back strap and hardcore fanciness. So I did. This new, heavier, but more user friendly weed whacker allowed me to achieve my true weed whacking destiny. Weeds cowered in my presence, gardens opened up, and I unleashed my barbaric yawlp.

I learned several valuable lessons from this experience  1) Farming (or in this case aggressive gardening) is not easy 2) there is a lot to learn about farm implements 3) when in doubt purchase the most badass equipment you can find.

More on the roller coaster of emotions that is the small family farm in subsequent posts. Buenas noches.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    June 25, 2010 10:31 PM

    How about your Machette seems like it would come in handy with brush clearing? Lindsey you can do anything you put your mind to. You will whip that weed wacker in no time. Love y’all

    Uncle Chris

  2. Sheila McGuire permalink
    June 25, 2010 11:22 PM

    You may THINK you’re a badass, but you won’t truly be one until you start yelling “Yippee kiyay, motherf%&#er” while you’re using your badass weedwhacker. Of course, if that happens you may have crossed a line none of us want to think about.

    • June 26, 2010 5:34 PM

      Geoff can testify that when I am weed whacking even Howard Stern would blush at the words coming out of my mouth 🙂

Leave a Reply

