Skip to content

Chicken Gizzard Ridge: Livin’ the High Life

June 22, 2010

Actually, we live in a valley, but the ridge line behind our house, which is partially part of our property, is called Chicken Gizzard Ridge. I did not name it. Geoff was born in a place called Toad Suck and his parents live near a place called Pickles Gap, so I guess living at the base of Chicken Gizzard Ridge just makes me a part of the family.

Life is good so far on the ranch, but as I had been warned, farm work is not easy. Yesterday I had a Jillian Michaels style workout unintentionally. Behind the house there is a pergola draped in Wisteria vines. The vines were overgrown and the whole thing needed a big haircut. The path leading up to the pergola is flanked by two large Holly bushes and two plant/trees of unknown origin. I started by pruning the Holly and mystery bushes while Geoff tackled the Wisteria. Although I was working my fastest and my hardest Geoff easily lapped me in terms of amount of greenery pruned. When all of the pruning was done I decided that my job should be to move all of the clippings into one huge pile so that we could eventually incorporate them into our compost pile. For a person with more than a toddler’s quantity of strength this probably would be an easy job, but for me it was like World War Three. At the time, meaning yesterday, we did not own a pitch fork (now we do). Lack of strength and the right tool for the job did not stop me though. Through grunting, pushing, kicking, and rolling I was able to get all of the Wisteria vines wound up and in a big pile just past the pergola. Meanwhile, Geoff cured cancer, ordered poultry on the internet, started eight dozen seedlings, and played with the dogs. At this point I’d just like to point out, that although I am not the strongest person on the farm, anything I do outside is a bonus, because my real purview is the front office of the ranch. Consider this my first act of marketing. Check out our website, http://www.goodliferanch.com, and know that it is a hands on operation. Even Bailey and Scooter help out (although they are not qualified).

I’m continuing to get used to life in a rural area. So far so good. I’ve had no major meltdowns. Everything is taking a lot of getting used to, but I am taking it day by day and I feel confident rural living will start to make sense to me soon. Along those lines, I’ve been doing some canning research (thanks to all who sent me suggestions about what to do). I think I’ll be okay, and I am not going to put to much pressure on myself this year. I’ll can what I can. We will for sure have peaches but not as many as I thought as a result of the mold that has hit Priscilla (the tree) pretty hard. Polly is looking good. Her peaches are white (Geoff wants to make sure I clarify that we have two different VARIETIES of peaches, not two different species) and will surely taste delightful. We’ll have pears, blackberries, raspberries, mulberries, plums, and if we have time to climb the ridge, blueberries. Additionally, Geoff was quick to get the garden in the ground in the hopes of harvesting as much as possible before the first frost. I picked a lot of whimsical vegetables that will not likely be ready in time, but will provide color and personality in the garden in the meantime. Bok Choy tastes good and adds just the right amount of sass to the garden.

Tonight is homemade pizza night, the dough is rising in the fridge, and I am about to go take our brand new Troy-built trimmer (aka weedeater) for a spin.

Please enjoy these pictures of our life on the farm.

Pergola & Wisteria

Plum, yum.

Sunset over the creek.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    June 23, 2010 1:34 AM

    Lindsay! Glad to hear all is well. Seguin sounds quite metropolitan and sophisticated next to Chicken Gizzard Ridge and Toad Suck. Keep building up your strength, although I enjoyed the mental image of you rolling whole gathering the brush.

  2. June 23, 2010 2:01 AM

    It’s beautiful! Thanks for sharing photos of your new home(stead).

Leave a Reply

