Skip to content

Why did the giant metal chicken cross the road?

May 23, 2010

Last night some of our dearest friends threw Geoff and I a going away party. It was a wonderful night of telling stories, enjoying great food, laughing, and basking in the beauty of my going away present. Several months ago I had attempted to purchase a giant metal chicken for Geoff as a surprise present. We had seen them originally when we went to look at the first farm in North Carolina. The giant metal chickens we found at a farmers market in NC were reasonably priced. The moment we saw them Geoff and I promised each other that our farm would definitely have a giant metal chicken. I was really worried that I wouldn’t be able to find any giant metal chickens in San Antonio when I stumbled across a place that sells them in La Villita. I went there one day after school to try and pick one up as a suprise present for Geoff when I discovered that giant metal chickens are far more expensive in San Antonio than they were in North Carolina. Dismayed by the prospect that I would not be able to afford to buy Geoff a surprise giant metal chicken as a present, I went next door to the Hotel Palacio Del Rio and enjoyed a margarita and the complementary happy hour chip and salsa bar.  I had pretty much resigned myself to the fact that our farm would not have a giant metal chicken until we could figure out how to make one. That was my reality, until last night. Our friends pitched in and got us a giant metal chicken. I cannot think of a more perfect, thoughtful gift. It will now adorn the yard of our farm house and all guests to the farm must take a compulsory giant metal chicken picture.

Red velvet cupcakes from Kate's Frosting on Main in San Antonio!

My contribution to the party, after copious amounts of research on locally owned and operated bakeries, was red velvet cupcakes from Kate’s Frosting. They are decadent, tasty, and very festive.

Last night was a wonderful celebration, but also a pressing reminder that in 21 days we will be leaving San Antonio for good.

I’ll post more pictures from the night once I convince my friend McKinley’s sweet husband to send me copies.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 7, 2011 3:21 PM

    Seriously, that is the coolest gift ever. Love it!

Leave a Reply

