Skip to content

The Taco Realization

May 11, 2010

Today, sitting in fourth period, it occurred to me that I am moving to a place that does not have breakfast tacos. I realize this is true for most of the cities in America, but having spent the past twelve years of my life living in San Antonio I don’t remember what this feels like. I have become so attached to breakfast tacos that on more than one occasion I’ve given up breakfast tacos for Lent.

The picture at left shows some quintessential San Antonio breakfast tacos served up at Ruthie’s on West Avenue. This is just one of many local taco spots where one can enjoy what to my mind is the perfect breakfast food. On my five minute drive to school each day I pass six taco shops, all of which are good and two of which are exceptional. Less than a mile from my house are three of the most famous taco shops in town, one of which was voted Best Breakfast Taco in America by the Travel Channel.

I don’t know how I’m going to replace this breakfast taco habit. I’m pretty sure I’ll get fired if I start having Bourbon for breakfast instead. I suppose I’ll have to burn that bridge when I get to it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 4:43 PM

    Elyzabeth and I are planning on hosting a weekly/biweekly/monthly/periodically breakfast taco feast in New Haven, since folks up there just don’t know what’s good for ’em. What with their granola for breakfast and other such nonsense.

  2. Uncle Chris permalink
    May 11, 2010 10:01 PM

    Maybe you can take your own touch of Texas to Kentycky with you and start making breakfast tacos. I bet they will catch on there too. Hey whats good is good.

  3. Kelly permalink
    May 12, 2010 4:46 PM

    Perhaps the farm enterprise should also include a taco stand?

  4. LAS permalink
    May 17, 2010 6:44 AM

    It is sad, but true, that the rest of the world doesn’t know about breakfast tacos. I was talking with some people from my church (here in VA) about our favorite breakfast foods and I said breakfast tacos. They looked at me blankly and someone said, “like eggs in a taco shell or something”. um, no. When I described it they suggested I try Chipotle. um, no. Sad day.

    IF you are driving through Austin to get to Kentucky, make sure you stop at Mi Madre’s for some last breakfast tacos. They are awesome. It is now our custom to stop there as we leave Texas each time.

Leave a Reply

