Skip to content

Thirty-four Days Remain

May 10, 2010

I took today off of school to catch up on some work. I spent most of the day grading students essays. I’m very impressed with the work my students produced. Usually reading student writing is a mixed bag, but this time my students have produced work that I have thoroughly enjoyed reading. A few of the pieces I think are even publishable. Good work Sophomores!

Part of today, the part that did not involve cajoling the ever reluctant eater Scooty to eat his dinner before Bailey made a go at it, involved a trip to the grocery store. While in line I discovered a magazine I had never seen before–Eating Well. Inside were tons of great articles including one about how the makers of the documentary King Corn started a farm in the bed of their truck and drive it around urban neighborhoods. They even sold CSA shares in the truck farm and provided fresh produce to 20 families. What a fun idea! You can go to Eating Well to read the full article. There is also a cool article of how to best preserve extra fresh fruits and veggies. The truck farm has inspired me to look for other “sword into plowshares” type combinations. Old trucks are gas guzzlers and carbon monoxide emitters, but these guys are offsetting the carbon and providing fresh food in urban areas. I wonder what other mighty combos we could create if we thought about it?

Photo from eatingwell.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelsey Hays permalink
    May 15, 2010 9:18 PM

    I got Da a subscription of Eating Well for his birthday last year, and I’m pretty sure they don’t even look at it. Knowing my grandparents, though, they should still have every copy ever received. You can have dibs.

Leave a Reply

