Skip to content

Happy Mother’s Day!

May 9, 2010

Fifteen years ago I gave my mom a book that I created called “Important Things I Learned from You, Volume I” (or at least I think that is what it was called). This elegant, binder bound, hand caligraphied tome contained the pearls of wisdom my mother imparted to me during my first fifteen years of life. Ambitious fifteen year old that I was I promised my mom subsequent volumes at fifteen year intervals. This year I turned thirty, so it is about time for that second volume. When I was fifteen the Internet was young, the term blog had not yet been coined, and binders were a really reliable way to present information. Technology has come a long way since then, so I have decided to present a completely digital Volume II of “Important Things I Learned From You”.

On Relationships

Every pot has a lid.

Sometimes you just have to mate in captivity.

On Careers

Thirty is a great age for a career change.

Even when you are thirty your mom still wants to see a copy of your resume.

On public gatherings

Dancing at a wedding is not optional.

Pajamas in public are encouraged.

On cuisine

Never underestimate the power of pulled pork.

There is more than one way to “cook”.

On Geography

When deciding where to move it is imperative to consider the number of Zeta Tau Alpha active and alumni chapters.

On retirement

Follow the unborn grandbabies.

On pets

Pets no. Granddogs yes.

On justice

Everyone deserves his day in court.

Fish should continue to keep their mouths shut if they don’t want to get

caught.

On generosity

There is no limit to the generosity of parents.

All of the pearls of wisdom that my mom shared with me in Volume I are true as well. One day when I have access to the original copy I will post them here for all to see. Also, I hope sometime in the next fifteen years I will get to have my own babies, and I know the wisdom imparted to me by my mom in that Volume will be boundless.

In addition to wishing my Mom a happy Mother’s Day I’d like to send a shout out to the many mothers who help support this blog. So to all the McPherson, Ferguson, McGuire, Frye, and Hays moms, to all of the Perret and Scroggs moms, to the Jacobsen moms, the Jones moms, the Smith moms, the Barnett moms, the Brawner moms, and any and all other moms who have read and talked to their children about this blog—thank you, and happy Mother’s Day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila McGuire permalink
    May 9, 2010 12:13 PM

    I always enjoy your blogs, especially liked this one. Not sure I get the one about mating in captivity, though. Is this something Nana should have taught me? Thanks for the Mother’s Day wishes, sweetie. I’ll keep yours on hold until I get to be Aunt Mamie.

  2. the Barnett mom permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:37 PM

    I follow your blog as faithfully as I do my own daughter’s, and it’s such a delight. Thanks for the mother’s day wish.

Leave a comment