Skip to content

Countdown

April 25, 2010

Inspired by my colleague’s methodical counting down to the end of the school year, and by the idea, posed by my father-in-law, that Geoff and I will one day look back on this blog as a record of our journey to Kentucky, I am starting a countdown. Each day I will post a picture or pictures that I hope will serve as a unique reminder of that day and our journey.

Today’s photos are inspired by a new and interesting situation we’ve found ourselves in here at the rental house. For some reason, maybe the increasing temperatures, there has been an outbreak of black flies. Since I have a lot of experience  with the main cause of black flies (dead animals) I am confident in saying that there are no dead animals on or near the premises. And yet, the flies are here. So today I picked up a set of his and hers fly swatters, and with the vigilant fly eradication dedication of Bailey and Scooter, fly hunting has become a family affair. I know what you’re thinking–gross. Instead try thinking, ” Oh what fun! This should give you the chance to get in touch with your inner Mr. Miagi.” As we all know, I welcome any chance to get in touch with my inner Miagi.

Countdown: 50 Days until Kentucky!

Photo Courtesy of G. McPherson

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie permalink
    April 25, 2010 5:04 PM

    Yippee! I made the blog! Long live countdowns.

  2. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    May 15, 2010 10:22 PM

    The best part of this blog is the photos of the fly swatters “posing” around the house. If you’re REALLY brave you’ll post some “after” photos.

Leave a Reply

