Skip to content

To Whom It May Concern

April 16, 2010

Dear Fans (specifically Mrs. Jones),

I apologize for the infrequency of my posts lately. School and life have been busy, but have no fear—I’m still here!

Today, with the help of the United States Postal Service, I mailed off both my defensivedrivingticketerasingmissive and my complete (including all requisite stickers, stamps, insignias, signatures, copies, and cashier’s checks) application for certification in the state of Kentucky. There was a bit of a delay in getting the KY documents in the mail due almost exclusively to the fact that I had packed up all of my most important documents in one of the 50 boxes in the garage, but I know not which one. Fortunately, thanks to my friend Angela and this really helpful lady in human resources named Belinda, there is a copy of my National Board Certificate winging its way toward Frankfurt, KY.

In spite of my not having time to blog lately, school has actually been going very well. We are doing some creative writing in response to Rudolfo Anaya’s Bless Me, Ultima and the whole experience has been great fun. Bless Me, Ultima is the San Antonio Public Library Big Read book for this year, so the entire city of San Antonio is supposed to be reading it and there are daily events at branches throughout SA during the month of April. Our journey into the realm of creative writing was prompted by a wonderful video created by the National Endowment for the Arts and posted on the San Antonio Public Library webpage about Anaya and how he came to write the novel. Anaya appears so personable in the video and talks so honestly and sincerely about his process as a writer and what books and writing can do in people’s lives that I felt compelled to allow my students the opportunity to flex their creative muscles and see what kind of writers they could become. Our creative journey has been further spurred on by Anne Lamott and her hilarious, honest advice to writers young and old. I look forward to next week when we will draft, develop characters, tighten plots, and produce publication worthy final drafts.

It is Fiesta time in San Antonio, and as part of my commitment to suck the marrow out of my last two months (now exactly one day less than two months) in San Antonio, I plan to participate in more Fiesta events than I ever have before. That means I need to participate in a grand total of three Fiesta events. My trifecta begins on Sunday when I’ll head out to the Southwest School of Art and Craft for the Fiesta Arts Fair. Then on Monday I will join the other Young Alumni from Trinity at the Fiesta River Boat Parade. My third Fiesta event is YTBD (yet to be determined), but I have a feeling I will know which event to choose when the time is right.  Meanwhile, I am also trying eat at all of my favorite San Antonio restaurants before we leave. In a normal town, this would not be as time consuming of an endeavor as it is here in SA. Food here is like a religion. Especially Mexican food. The idea that “you’ve had one taco you’ve had them all” is not a reality here. Half the restaurants on my list serve Mexican food and each is a unique taste extravaganza all its own. And don’t even get me started on margaritas. I know where we are going margaritas will be in short supply, so now is the time to imbibe. Readers, did you know that there are places on earth where margaritas are made with sweet and sour mix? If I have to tell you why this is a travesty, then I think you may not deserve to know. But fear not, I still have two months left of fresh squeezed lime, Cointreau, and Patron! (Disclaimer: I am not an alcoholic, I just happen to appreciate the medicinal power of fermented agave, lime, and citrus liquor) Viva Fiesta!

Love,

Farmerlady

One Comment leave one →
  1. former Ms. Jones permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:47 AM

    I apologize if the Mrs. Jones you refer to is my mother. You’re the communicative daughter she never had, and you’ve spoiled her thus far. 🙂 Plus, she’s forgotten what it’s like to have a class that isn’t run entirely on computers! Resist the pressure – Enjoy the fiesta and rita’s for me!

Leave a Reply

