Skip to content

Oh the bountiful harvest!

April 5, 2010

Radish Amuse Bouche

Radish 1

Radish Trinity

It’s springtime, and as we all know, all men’s fancy turns to one thing–radishes. Considering the pitiful nature of the soil in our garden, I am very proud of our harvest of four, yes FOUR, beautiful red radishes. There are a few more that should be ready to harvest in a couple of days, and we still anxiously await the six or seven lettuces, the one mighty spinach, and as many of the corn as survive the wrath of Scooty. I can report that the radishes taste as radishes should and that their color, when sliced, is vibrant and captivating. In fact as soon as I sliced up the first radish I turned to Geoff and said, “Aren’t these radishes vibrant and captivating?” Geoff agreed.

On another harvesting note, this weekend is one of my very favorite food related festivals, the Poteet Strawberry Festival. A lovely three-day affair, the festival includes a full carnival, duck races, country and western dancing, and the full array of strawberry treats including, but not limited to: strawberry shortcake, HEB Creamy Creations Poteet Strawberry Ice Cream, strawberry wine, chocolate covered strawberries, strawberry cheesecake, strawberry jams and jellies, and a wide array of non-strawberry items served on a stick. In other words, it is a wonderland of joy. Sadly, I did not attend last year, but this year I plan not to repeat that mistake. If the stars align then I will be up to my eyeballs in strawberry goodness before the sun sets on Saturday.

As long as we are on the topic of springtime, I will admit that I am both aware of the fact that the professional baseball season has started and I am excited for it. I am in a pretend baseball league (some say “fantasy”) with Geoff and his family. Both my real membership in this pretend activity and my fantasy that school will somehow really be cancelled and everyone in the building will be told to spend the next two months frolicking in fields have piqued my interest in baseball. It is played outside. There is pretty grass and sunshine. Sometimes what they do looks like frolicking. All of these things have contributed to an almost uncontrollable urge in me to sit in stands and yell cheers. For now I will have to satiate this desire by supporting the Junior Varsity Lee Volunteers. However, if school does mysteriously get cancelled for two months, I will be making my way to the nearest, sunniest, MLB baseball field. And dear readers, this is yet another change in my previous dispositions that is music to Geoff’s ears (second only to my previously undiscovered love of dogs).

I blame spring time for all of it. Oh, and Go Cubs Go!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sally ferguson permalink
    April 5, 2010 9:29 PM

    Farmerlady–Truly the most splendid radishes I have ever seen–You will be contacted by the Whole Foods produce man any day now–I would surely love to be there for the Poteet Strawberry Festival!! Can hardly wait for strawberries in Arkansas !! Keep up the great work! Sally Farmerlady fan

  2. Tracy permalink
    April 6, 2010 6:12 AM

    Hooray for your first harvest! I’m super excited to be planting our garden this weekend! We always plan to go small, but it never turns out that way, and we have enough produce to feed every friend, neighbor, family member and co-worker we have. I think they get as excited about our garden being planted as we do!

    I hope your garden continues to flourish!

Leave a Reply

