Skip to content

All things come…

March 24, 2010

I have spring fever. More specifically I have farm fever. My mind wanders to our future fields, our future house, our future life. I am very happy to be here, and I intend to end my tenure at my current school on the highest possible note, but when the sun is shining and the birds are singing it is very hard to stay indoors. More than just the traditional spring fever, I have a pretty big case of limbo fever. What I mean by that is, I dread undefined times, limbo times. A typical example of a limbo time is the summer before the first year of college. The days and weeks between graduation and my first day at Trinity crawled by. No matter how I chose to spend my time I could not get my mind off of the fact that something very exciting and very challenging was awaiting me, but there was nothing I could do to get there faster. I just had to wait, and be anxious, and wait.

Now is one of those times. I have plenty of things to do and be doing. I have many things to finish and finish well, but my mind keeps fast forwarding to the future. I have that “night before the first day of school” feeling in the pit of my stomach all the time. It does not go away.

Looking on the bright side, the couple we bought the farm from, who are currently still living on the farm and leasing it back from us, sent us a great email. Spring is beginning to reveal itself on the farm. They know I am really excited about the asparagus plants that already exist on the farm. If you plant them from a seed it takes at least three years before you have an edible crop of asparagus, so to have viable, producing asparagus plants already in place is a great gift. They offered to overnight us the first harvest. How wonderful! (Not at all sustainable, but still a wonderful gesture.) They also offered to plant tomatoes for us so that they would be in their prime by the time we move in. How am I supposed to function in my daily life here when I can already picture tomato plants especially planted for me beginning to yield their tasty fruits. Visions of Caprese salads are dancing in my head.

So we wait. Hopefully I can wait in a way that demonstrates the little bit of patience that I have, but more than that, in a way that honors the experiences and friendships and relationships and life that I have lived for the past twelve years here in San Antonio.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Uncle Chris permalink
    March 24, 2010 8:32 PM

    Lindsey that sounds so Good I love Asparagus. I am so Happy for you and Geoff. Love you

    Uncle Chris

  2. March 25, 2010 6:31 AM

    Have no fear–I’ll be making the most of your last months and days as a San Antonian, even if you can’t always do that.

Leave a Reply

