Skip to content

Machete Madness

March 8, 2010

On Saturday I turned 30! Unlike most people, I am very happy to have reached this milestone. For many years now I’ve counted each extra breath as a blessing, and I know that there are no guarantees in life. To reach thirty then, is a distinct privilege. I am finally in my thirties and have joined the esteemed ranks of many wonderful people in my life who are 30 and older, including my sweet husband. My birthday weekend was filled with countless special experiences and surprises, the best of which was that my parents surprised me by flying my brother down from New York to celebrate with me in person. Although we are two years apart, my brother and I are soul twins and I could not have imagined celebrating my birthday without him.

I am not a typical girl and I am not interested in the typical girl presents. Fortunately, Geoff knows this and so it did not come as a shock to him when I asked for a machete. We’ve been making lists of things that we each feel are essential for the farm. Geoff’s list includes fencing, a livestock trailer, and  a tractor among other things. My list includes a kayak, a machete, and a job. We actually both probably need to get jobs during our first year, but mine will be more of a full time thing while Geoff’s will hopefully allow him to start getting the farm set up. Fortunately, I can cross machete off my list because my sweet husband got me one for my birthday. Wisely, he got me a starter model so I can grow in machete skills and proficiency. There is some wayward bamboo in the backyard of our rental house, and as soon as the weather clears up I plan on taking a crack at it. Geoff also got me a really cool book on how to raise bees. I am in charge of raising bees on the farm first because I find honey mesmerizing and second because I do not go into anaphylactic shock when bees sting me.  In my mind I have already staked out a remote corner of the farm to locate my hives so that Geoff gets as little bee exposure as possible. In my mind I’ve also designed a hip holster for Geoff’s epi-pen so he can have it on him at all times. Geoff is not to keen on that idea, but I think it is far superior to the fanny pack that I will staple to his body if he refuses the epi-pen hip holster.

Next weekend we spring forward. The extra daylight should provide me with the opportunity to take some pictures to help spruce up the blog, and to wield my machete with ninja-like grace and accuracy. Stay tuned.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sheila McGuire permalink
    March 8, 2010 8:31 PM

    Being able to wield a machete with ninja-like grace and accuracy is actually #42 on my bucket list. When do you start giving lessons?

  2. Chris Jacobsen permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:48 PM

    Your Blog is amazing just like you are. The machete sounds exactly like something your Mother would have done. Love you lots

    Uncle Chris

  3. Laurie Smith permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:04 PM

    I love how much you make me laugh. May I suggest that if you are going to make Geoff carry his epi-pen, it’s only fair that you carry a tourniquet or two–at least until you perfect those machete skills.

  4. Bonnie Brawner permalink
    March 10, 2010 5:51 AM

    Lindsey, I can’t wait to follow your future farming adventures. And remember this…if machete training goes awry, there IS life after amputation.

  5. Amanda Dillard permalink
    March 11, 2010 7:11 PM

    I appreciate your refreshing outlook on turning 30. A nice contrast to the assumed “doom and gloom” approach most people take to this big milestone. I too hope to look at it in the same way in a few short days…

Leave a Reply

